今週ゴルフ来週スキー or Golf and Ski in the Same Week

日本へ引っ越してくる前の五年間、僕はカナダのエドモントンに住んでいた。その時、僕はスキーとゴルフにすごく興味を持つようになった。だから、毎年、夏には友達と一緒に色々なゴルフ場でゴルフをした。そして、冬にはカナダのロッキー山脈へスキーに行った。 お金のかかる趣味でしょ!でも、良い生活だったと思います。

カナダではゴルフの季節とスキーの季節はいつも反対ですよね。以前の僕の夢は同じ週にゴルフやスキーをすることでした。

この間、日本でこの夢を実現できて良かった。二週間前に僕と三人の友達で山口県の柳井カントリー へゴルフに行った。本当に一月八日だったでしょ。その日の天気は晴れて、気温は十℃だった。ちょっと風が吹いたけど、大体はゴルフをするのにとてもいい天気だった。

次の週末は僕と二人の友達で広島県の恐羅漢スノーパークへスキーやスノーボードに行った。今、恐羅漢はいっぱい雪があるから、すごいスキー旅行だった。

スキーの間に僕は前の週末のゴルフ経験を思い出した。「信じられない」と思った。

それでは、今月は僕がゴルフとスキーの両方をした月ですね。

ーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーーー

Before I moved to Japan, I lived in Edmonton, Alberta for five years. During that time, I really began to like skiing and golfing. So, every summer my friends and I would play various golf courses around Alberta and British Columbia. And in the winter, we’d travel out to the Canadian Rockies for annual ski trips. These hobbies can get quite expensive, however definitely worth every penny.

In Canada, you can really only golf in one season: summer, and ski in another: winter. Likely because of this, my dream has always been to play golf and go skiing in the same week.

Well, this dream recently became a reality. Two weeks ago, three friends and I played 18 holes at Yanai Country Club in Yamaguchi Prefecture. It really was the 8th of January! The weather was sunny, the temperature about 10 degrees Celsius, and even though it was a bit windy, the weather was quite beautiful all day.

The next weekend, two friends and I went to Osorakan Snow Park in Hiroshima Prefecture for a ski and snowboard trip. Osorakan has a ton of snow right now, which made the trip all the better.

While skiing, I recalled the previous week’s round of golf. My only thought: “I cannot believe it! Did I really tee it up seven days ago, one Prefecture away from here?!?”

I did. And that is the story of my ski and golf dream.

Leave a Reply

