愛着 or Home is not Necessarily Written on Your Passport

私はカナダとアメリカの二重国籍を持っています。しかも、カナダやアメリカや日本にも住んだことがあります。時々、相手はこの事を聞いたら、私に同じ質問を聞かせています。

「どちらの国に愛着を持っていますか?」

そうですね。

この質問の答えはかなり難しいだと思います。

生まれはカナダですが、3歳のときから25歳までアメリカに住んでいました。そして、25歳から29歳まで、ちょうど5年間カナダのエドモントンに住んでいたし、その後、英語の教師になるために、日本の山口県に移りました。ここにほぼ二年間、住みました。

「どちらの国に愛着を持っていますか?」

そうですね。

実は、三ヶ国に愛着を持っていますよ。

例えば、この間の冬のオリンピック大会で、アイスホッケーの決勝はアメリカ対カナダでした。そのとき、私はアメリカを応援しました。もちろん、カナダのアイスホッケーチームも応援していたけど、たぶん、その試合、アメリカは 下位のチームでしたので、アメリカを応援しました。やっぱり、カナダが勝ちました!

他には、前回のWBC野球大会、日本とカナダを応援しました。アメリカのチームは強すぎたので、ちょっとつまらなかった。日本は毎試合、一所懸命していたので、すごい感動しました、私。やっぱり、日本が勝って良かった!

結局、自分の国籍について、あまり考えてない。三ヶ国が好きですけど、本当に面白い質問だと思います。

I am a citizen of both the United States and Canada. I have also lived in three countries: Canada, the USA, and Japan. Sometimes when people find this out, the same question comes up.

“What country do feel most strongly attached to?”

Good question.

The answer to this question is quite difficult.

I was born in Canada, and then when I was three moved to the United States. When I turned 25, I moved back to Canada and lived in Edmonton, Alberta for about 5 years. And then packed up to come to Japan to teach English in Yamaguchi Prefecture. I have lived here for almost two years.

“What country do you feel most strongly attached to?”

Good question.

Well, I feel attachments to all three countries, and in different ways that are hard to explain.

So, let’s just take sports for example.

During the last Winter Olympics, the US and Canada faced off in the Gold Medal hockey game. While my heart was torn, I did cheer on the US, and while I really did like that Canadian team, I likely cheered on the US because they were the underdog. Canada won!

Another example would be the 2009 World Baseball Classic. I remember supporting Japan and Canada. The US team was just a bit too over-confident and were boring to watch. Japan was such an exciting team to watch and played with such intense emotion that it was hard not to root for them. Japan won!

In the end, I love all three countries and am very blessed to have been able to call each one home. But, still, good question! And one I try not to think too much about (at least outside of which team to root for).

Leave a Reply

