さようならを言うかわりに、またね!or I’d Rather Just Say See Ya Later

これは私の「さようなら挨拶のスピーチ」です。場所は下松中学校の体育館です。ビデオの下、日本語の原稿や英語の通訳が書いてあります。どうぞよろしくお願いします!

This is my farewell speech at Kudamatsu Junior High School. Below the video is the Japanese transcript and English translation of the speech. Thank you for watching and listening!

皆さん、こんにちは!私のためにこのような会を開いて下さり、とても嬉しいです。

皆さんにさようならを言うことはとてもさびしいです。だけど、頑張ってあいさつします。

私は8月2日に、2年間の日本での生活を終了して、アメリカへ行くことになりました。

本当に信じられない!あっという間に、この2年間が過ぎてしまいました。一昨年の夏に、初めて下松市に来て、宇部空港から下松までの途中、私が最初に思ったのは「山口県はすごくきれいですが、ぶち暑い!」でした。そのとき、山口弁が全くしゃべれんかったけれども、今は少ししゃべっちょるじゃろう?

この2年間の間に、たくさんの経験をしました。例えば、屋久島や北海道など色々な所を旅行しました。また、この山口県で偶然にも理想の女性に出会うことができました。来月、ハワイで、その女性と結婚して、ハワイでの新しい生活が始まります。

また、皆さんに英語を教えられたことも、すごく嬉しいことでした。

実は、日本に来る前は、教えることに関して、よく分かりませんでした。だけど、今は皆さんのおかけで、私は英語を教えることに自信を持つことができました。本当にありがとうございました。とても感謝しています。

生徒の皆さん、毎日、笑ったり、熱心に勉強したり、廊下で一緒に話したり、給食を一緒に食べたり、本当にありがとうございした!皆さんのおかげで、この2年間の毎日はすごく楽しかったです。皆さんから、いっぱい学びました。私は皆さんに英語についてたくさんのことを教えることができましたか?もし、できていたら、私はとてもしあわせです。

是非、英語の勉強を続けて下さい。外国語はとても難しいけれど、一所懸命勉強して外国の人たちとコミュニケーションすることは、皆さんにとって必要だと思いますので、頑張ってください。難しくても、あきらめないで下さい!

先生がた、いつも、私が分からないこと助けて下さってありがとうございました。先生がたのおかげで、私は安心して学校での生活を送ることができました。本当にありがとうございました。

いつか、彼女と下松に遊びに来るつもりです。皆さんも、ハワイに来たときは、是非会いましょう。その時を楽しみにしています。

この2年間のことを決して忘れません。もう一度、本当にありがとうございました。では、さようならを言うかわりに、じゃ、またね!

Hello, everyone! I am very happy that you have all gathered here for me today.

It is extremely sad to have to say goodbye to everyone at this school. But, I will do my best.

On August 2nd, my 2-year term in Japan will come to an end and I will move to the United States.

I cannot believe it! These two years have gone by in a flash. I first came to Kudamatsu two summers ago, and on my way here from Ube Airport, my first impression was that Yamaguchi truly is a beautiful place, but man was it unbelievably hot! At that time, I knew absolutely no Yamaguchi dialect, but now I can speak a little, I think.

During these two years, I have had many wonderful experiences. I have been able to travel all over Japan, to places like Yakushima, and Hokkaido, to name a few. Also, in this very prefecture, I was able to meet the love of my life. We will be married next month in Hawaii, and begin our new lives together there.

On top of all that, I have had the pleasure of teaching you English, which has made me ever-so happy.

Before I came to Japan, I had very little idea of how to teach, or what teaching would be like. However, now, thanks to everyone here, I have been able to become a confident teacher. Thank you very, very much! I am forever grateful for that.

To all the students: I want to thank you for smiling and laughing with me every day, for studying with great enthusiasm, for talking with me in the hallways, and for eating school lunch with me. Thanks to you, these two years have been so very fun. Also, I have learned a lot from you. My hope is that I have been able to teach many things about English. If this has been the case, I am very happy.

Please continue your studies of English. I understand that foreign languages are very, very difficult, however if you study earnestly every day, you will be able to improve your communication skills and speak with many foreign people from all over the world, so just give it your all! And, no matter how difficult it gets, please never give up!

To my fellow teachers: I want to thank you for always offering assistance when I have needed help. Thanks to all of you, I have been able to experience a very welcoming work environment, and I am very grateful to you for that. Thank you.

Someday, my fiancé and I will return to Kudamatsu, and I am already looking forward to it. Also, if you ever end up in Hawaii, by all means, let’s meet. Anytime is a-ok!

I will never forget these two years. One more time, I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart. So, instead of saying “goodbye,” I will simply say “See ya later.” Thank you.

4 thoughts on “さようならを言うかわりに、またね!or I’d Rather Just Say See Ya Later

  1. いい別れのスピーチだった! お疲れ様でした! 僕は別れのスピーチをした時、ちょっと感情的になってしまった。 大変だった。 さよならを言うのはとてもつらいね。 僕は、「さようならを言うかわりに、またね」という意見には賛成です。 日本の生活の最後の数日を楽しんでください! では、後5週間に会いましょう!

  2. 久々に本当に心温まるスピーチを聞き、すごく感動しました!日本語完璧だね!これだけすばらしいスピーチをしかも日本語でできるなんて本当にすごい!よくがんばったと言いたいです!我が母校の後輩もきっといい思い出になったと思うよ!ありがとう!

  3. 練習通り、ばっちりだったね!おおぜいの前で堂々とスピーチで来ていて尊敬します。
    本当にあっという間だったけど、これからもkeep in touchで末永くよろしくお願いします。
    とりあえず(!)来月Honoluluでね~

  4. すごいね~。スピーチ本当に感動しました。YESのお別れ会いけなくてすごく残念でした!ハワイでお幸せにね!!May your future be full of happiness!! Kyoko Watanabe

Leave a Reply

